Connect with us


Adebukola Banjoko, Abuja High Court judge who jailed ex-govs Dariye, Nyame becomes Appeal Court Justice



Justice Adebukola Banjoko of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, who on May 30, 2018, jailed former Governor of Taraba State, Reverend Jolly Nyame 14 years without an option of fine on corruption charges, will tomorrow, in Abuja be inaugurated as Appeal Court Justice.

Justice Banjoko, who became famous for her uncompromising stance, also on June 12, 2018 convicted former Plateau State Governor, Joshua Dariye and sentenced him to 14 years’ imprisonment on charges of criminal breach of trust and two years’ jail term for criminal misappropriation.

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad will on Monday inaugurate her along with 17 others at the Supreme Court Complex.

Grant executive pardon to Dariye, Nyame – Jang, Gyang appeal to President Buhari

A statement by the Chief Registrar of the Apex court Hajia Hadizatu Mustapha indicated that the CJN will perform the swearing in ceremony by 10 am at the main court room.

The names of the newly appointed appellate court Justices with their states of origin are:
Mohammed Danjuma (Niger State); Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau); Abdul-Azeez Waziri (Adamawa); Yusuf A. Bashir (Taraba) and Usman Alhaji Musale (Yobe).

Also on the list are Ibrahim Wakili Jauro (Yobe); Abba Bello Mohammed (Kano); Bature Isah Gafai (Katsina); Danlami Zama Senchi (Kebbi); Mohammed Lawal Abubakar (Sokoto); Hassan Muslim Sule (Zamfara) and Hassan Muslim Sule (Zamfara);

The rest are Kenneth Ikechukwu Amadi (Imo); Peter Oyinkenimiemi Affen (Bayelsa); Sybil Onyeji Gbagi (Delta); Olasunbo Goodluck (Lagos); Adebukola Banjoko (Ogun); Olabode Adegbehingbe (Ondo) and Bola Samuel Ademola (Ondo).

Lawan, Gbajabiamila will go to jail over refusal to amend Electoral Act – Adeyanju

Advertisement Web Hosting in Nigeria