Connect with us


#AnambraDecides: Soludo extends lead to all seven LGAs announced by INEC



The candidates of APC and PDP are the runners-up so far.

Charles Soludo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance has garnered more votes than his main challengers in Saturday’s governorship election, winning all the seven local government areas results announced so far by the electoral office INEC. The state has 21 local government areas and the candidates of APC and PDP are the runners-up so far.

Mr Soludo, 61, has been locked in a close contest with Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress, Valentine Ozigbo of the Peoples Democratic Party and Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party. The candidates are seeking to replace Governor Willie Obiano, the only APGA governor in the country.

Mr Obiano supported Mr Soludo during the primaries and pulled resources that aided his ardent campaign against candidates of the two biggest political parties, APC and PDP.

The seven LGAs so far announced are Onitsha South, Awka South, Aguata, Anaocha, Orumba North, Orumba South, Njikoka and Anambra East. Voting will, however, be allowed to continue on Sunday across polling units where delays were forced by widespread voting machine malfunctions.

Announced results:

1. Aguata LGA

APC: 4,773

APGA: 9,136

PDP: 3,798

2. Awka South LGA

APC: 2,595

APGA: 12,891

PDP: 5,489

3. Anambra East LGA

APC: 2,034

APGA: 9,746

PDP: 1,380

4. Onitsha South LGA

APC: 2,050

APGA: 4,281

PDP: 2,253

5. Orumba North LGA

APC: 2,692

APGA: 4,826

PDP: 1,863

6. Orumba South LGA

APC: 2,060

APGA: 4,394

PDP: 1,672

7. Anaocha LGA

APC: 2,085

APGA: 6,911

PDP: 5,108

Details shortly…

Advertisement Web Hosting in Nigeria