Connect with us


Ekiti 2022: PDP Candidate, Kolawole Congratulates Oyebanji Of APC On His Victory



The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti State, Bisi Kolawole has accepted defeat and congratulated the winner of the election, Biodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Kolawole in a personally signed statement on Sunday, said he believes God bestows power on whoever he chooses and the expression of the people’s mandate must be respected.

He however urged Oyebanji to get down to the business of governance as soon as he resumes office, pointing out that the people of Ekiti State are suffering and need a responsive government.

He said: “Following the announcement of your victory in the June 18 Ekiti Governorship Election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), I hereby write to congratulate you accordingly.

“I believe that power belongs to God and He bestows upon whomever he chooses.

“I also believe in the popular choice that the unfettered expression of the people’s mandate as one of the crucial hallmarks of democratic principle and practice.

“Democracy must therefore deliver to the people dividends of security or protection and enhance their social welfare and well-being basically, and among other deliverables.

“These were the motivation for my own ambition in the governorship of Ekiti State which I feel strongly to reiterate here in view of the precarious situations of our people at the moment.

“Please take urgent actions aimed at redressing the plights of our people when you fully assume the mantle shortly.

“Finally, I wish you the guidance of the Almighty God in the onerous task ahead.

Congratulations to your spouse and also running mate.”

Tracknews recalls the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Abiodun Oyebanji as the winner of the governorship election in Ekiti State.

Oyebanji who won 15 out of the 16 Local Government Areas of the state gathered 187,057 votes.

The Governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party, Segun Oni came second with 82,211, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Bisi Kolawole gathered 67,457 votes.

The returning officer for the election, Professor Kayode Oyebode at 3:04 am on Sunday declared Oyebanji winner of the governorship election.

Advertisement Web Hosting in Nigeria